Awards Program


Kate Brennan from Spectra Credit Union is the 2022 winner of the Miriam Rivera Lieb Emerging Leader Award. 

The MD|DC Credit Union Association recognizes the accomplishments of individuals and credit unions through a variety of awards.

Miriam Rivera Lieb Emerging Leader Award
The award honors the legacy of Miriam Rivera Lieb who was a passionate advocate and leader in the credit union movement for more than three decades. She was also a mentor, helping encourage and cultivate the talents of many current credit union leaders earlier in their careers. The award recognizes a credit union professional, 40 or under, who shares Lieb’s dedication to the core principles of credit unions and demonstrates the potential to be a leader. The winner receives a professional development package. (Rules)

Professional of the Year
The Professional of the Year award is presented to an individual who possesses outstanding leadership qualities and has made significant contributions to the growth and well-being of their credit union, and the credit union movement in Maryland and the Washington Metro area.

Volunteer of the Year
The Volunteer of the Year award recognizes a credit union volunteer who best represents the credit union spirit through dedication to, and belief in, the credit union movement. Recipients are chosen based on their involvement with credit unions at the local and state levels, along with participation in activities that better their communities.

Wright Patman Award
The Wright Patman Award is the Association’s highest honor and recognizes an individual’s extraordinary contributions to credit unions. The award is named after Congressman William Wright Patman, a tireless advocate for credit unions who co-sponsored the Credit Union Act of 1934.

Marketing Trailblazer Awards
The Marketing Trailblazer Awards recognize outstanding marketing and communications achievements in a variety of categories by member credit unions.