Victories for Gov. Hogan in Maryland and Mayor Bowser in D.C.

Maryland Governor Larry Hogan cruised to victory Tuesday night with a historic win over Democratic challenger Ben Jealous.

Hogan is the first Republican governor to win reelection in the state in more than 60 years. But his coattails proved to be limited. Democrats Brian Frosh and Peter Franchot easily won reelection as Attorney General and Comptroller respectively. The Republican “Drive for Five,” an effort to take away Democrats’ veto-proof majority in the state Senate, fell short, with the GOP gaining only two seats.

Maryland’s Congressional delegation successfully defended their seats. They will be joined by Democrat and businessman David Trone who handily defeated Republican Amie Hoeber to replace Rep. John Delaney in the 6th Congressional District. Senator Ben Cardin will return for his third term on Capitol Hill.

Muriel Bowser became the first mayor to be reelected in the District since 2002. D.C. will continue to be represented entirely by Democrats. Del. Eleanor Holmes Norton, the District’s representative to the U.S. Congress, overwhelmingly won reelection, as did Attorney General Karl A. Racine , D.C. Council Chairman Phil Mendelson, and council members Brianne K. Nadeau (Ward 1), Mary M. Cheh (Ward 3), Kenyan R. McDuffie (Ward 5) and Charles Allen (Ward 6).