MD|DC Credit Union Association’s Chrystal Hunter Honored with Young Professional Leadership Award from AACUC

The MD|DC Credit Union Association is pleased to announce Training and Events Manager Chrystal Hunter has been selected as one of six inspiring credit union professionals to receive the inaugural “Commitment to Change Young Professional Leadership Award” presented by the African American Credit Union Association (AACUC) in partnership with Visa.

Andre AACUC AwardThe awards ceremony was hosted virtually on June 17 as part of the AACUC’s Commitment to Change: Credit Unions Unite Against Racism initiative. Each honoree was selected, according to AACUC, because they exemplify “Bold,” “Mindful,” and “Brave” leadership.

“Young professionals are the lifeline for AACUC and the leadership pipeline for our credit union industry,” said Renée Sattiewhite, President/CEO of AACUC. “Our inaugural honorees have done exceptional work embodying the principles of our Commitment to Change initiative and furthering diversity and inclusion in their spheres of influence. We are honored to recognize these young people’s achievements and are confident this is just the beginning of their profound impact on our industry.”

“We are blessed and fortunate to work with Chrystal, said John Bratsakis, President and CEO of the MD|DC Credit Union Association. “She has ensured that as an organization we did not walk away from uncomfortable conversations, but rather walked toward them in an intentional, thoughtful and deliberate way. The Association and our members have benefited from Chrystal’s abundant energy, good humor, and fierce commitment to teamwork. This recognition is well-earned and well-deserved. Congratulations Chrystal!”

The other honorees are:
• Latonya Allen, Director of Consumer Lending and Marketing, GPO FCU
• Cela Castillo, Research Specialist, Multicultural Business Strategy, CUNA Mutual Group
• Ben Herring, Director of Engagement, Minnesota Credit Union Network
• Kelli Holloway, Senior Vice President, Outreach, State Employees’ Credit Union of NC
• Jamar Jemison, Video Editor, Credit Union National Association
• Hazelmae Overturf, Product Owner, Collaborate (Employee Experience), BECU